Mariette Whitcomb | Deception

deception mariette whitcomb

The Book: 

Deception by Mariëtte Whitcomb
Finley Series #2
Published December 29th 2020 by Mariëtte Whitcomb

The Characters: 

Finley Williams
Her sister Lizzie and uncle Tom

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Get it on Amazon.

Looking for a spoiler refresher before reading Deception? Click here. Be warned that you may encounter spoilers to the first book, Orca, in the following description and review.

Deception (Finley Series #2) by Mariëtte Whitcomb

Thank you to damppebbles blog tours and Mariette Whitcomb for providing me with a digital copy of Deception in exchange for an honest review.

Book Blurb:

We should’ve stayed in Vietnam.

Five men have vanished from their homes, and not a single piece of evidence has been left behind. The police are stumped – until the most recent victim is found, alive, and he asks to speak to me…

Ari is back.

At Captain Taylor’s request, I join the investigation but this time I need to stay within the boring restraints of the law. Finley Williams, former vigilante turned consultant criminal profiler. How times have changed. How I have changed.

As the case unfolds, and the victims’ bodies are discovered, it becomes clear that this serial killer is unlike any I’ve ever encountered before. The murders will continue until I put a stop to them.

Tom remains relentless in his pursuit to prove that Aidan is the Marcel Sniper, even going so far as to have him dragged to the police station when somebody takes a shot at Ari. As the months go by and two men are killed by a sniper, I realise the people closest to me are out to destroy the life Aidan and I have created. Either that or Aidan is breaking his promise to never kill again.

If only victim number five hadn’t survived…

Thank you to Emma at damppebbles for hosting this blog tour and giving me the opportunity to help promote this awesome book.

deception binding lies mariette whitcomb

My Review

Finley is back with another dark, thrilling case!

In Orca, we met Finley just after she returned home from being held as a prisoner of war. Unable to cope with the world’s atrocities, she turns to vigilantism to fill her sleepless nights. Now, she has fallen in love and settled down a bit, but that doesn’t change the badass she is.

I liked that this book was more case-oriented, as Finley is working to complete her degree to become an official criminal profiler. It felt closer to the police procedurals that I love, although I also really enjoyed the vigilante aspect of Orca. I also really liked that we got to see a bit more of Finley’s personal side, as she gets married and begins trying to conceive. She’s a little more human and a little easier to relate to in this book, which was certainly an interesting contrast to Orca! I’m rooting for her, her love story, and her mission to rid the world of a little more evil.

Whitcomb certainly does an amazing job of spinning incredibly twisty tales. In both books I’ve read, I have had no idea what to expect. Deception ends with another whiplash-inducing cliffhanger, and I can’t wait to see how it plays out in Binding Lies!

About Mariëtte Whitcomb:

Mariëtte Whitcomb studied Criminology and Psychology at the University of Pretoria. An avid reader of psychological thrillers and romantic suspense novels, writing allows her to pursue her childhood dream to hunt criminals, albeit fictional and born in the darkest corners of her imagination. 

When Mariëtte isn’t writing, she reads or spends time with her family and friends. 

Social Media:

Website – 

Facebook –  

Instagram – 

Goodreads – 

Bookbub – 

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK:

Amazon US:

damp pebbles
deception mariette whitcomb

We're trying to grow our mailing list. If you join us and stick around, you will automatically be entered into two giveaways as a token of our thanks. And that's just the start!

1 Comment

Comments are closed.