Book Series In Order / Karin Slaughter

Karin Slaughter’s Will Trent Series in Order

Can I read the Will Trent series out of order? 

Since Karin Slaughter develops all her characters throughout both series, I definitely recommend reading them in order of publication date.

Personally, I started with The Kept Woman and then jumped back to the beginning. I had to re-read it by the time I got back to it on the list, and it was much better the second time around with the right background.

My recommendation is to start with the Grant County books to meet Sara Linton and Jeffrey Tolliver, but before you get to Undone read the first two books of the Will Trent series. From there, you can continue on with the Will Trent series in order. 

Here is the order in which you should read them:

  1. Blightsighted, 2001
  2. Kisscut, 2002
  3. A Faint Cold Fear, 2003
  4. Indelible, 2004
  5. Faithless, 2005
  6. Beyond Reach, 2007 (also titled Skin Privilege)
  7. Triptych, 2006
  8. Fractured, 2008
  9. Undone, 2009 (also titled Genesis)
  10. Broken, 2010
  11. Fallen, 2011
  12. Snatched, 2012, a Will Trent short story
  13. Criminal, 2012
  14. Busted, 2013, a Will Trent short story 
  15. Unseen, 2013
  16. The Kept Woman, 2016
  17. Cleaning the Gold, 2019, a Will Trent and Jack Reacher short story
  18. The Last Widow, 2019
  19. The Silent Wife, 2020
  20. After That Night (coming August 2023)

Many of those contain links to my reviews, so be sure to check them out!

If you’re looking for a matching set of the Grant County books, most of them are included in this set, which I purchased recently and love!

Follow me on Bloglovin’!

What do you think? Did you read the whole Grant County series before starting the Will Trent series? Did you start in the middle and then jump back? Have you been with Sara and Will since book one? Or perhaps you’ve found your way here after watching the Will Trent TV show? Let me know in the comments!

Sara Linton and Will Trent #1-8
Sara Linton and Will Trent #9-16

We're trying to grow our mailing list. If you join us and stick around, you will automatically be entered into two giveaways as a token of our thanks. And that's just the start!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *